Posted by Jeremy Swanson
On August 11, 2016

What Is The Legal Minimum of Car Insurance In California?

California has quite low minimum automobile insurance coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum

As you can see at a glance, an accident of any severity can easily go over these limits. If this is your coverage (and it might be, if you bought the cheapest insurance) then you do not have enough insurance to cover either yourself or third parties in case of a serious accident.

It is important as well to check on your uninsured/underinsured coverage because you will need the coverage if someone with a minimum policy causes an accident. You need good underinsured/uninsured coverage to take over where the other party’s policy leaves off. Hospital bills can add up in the blink of an eye, and most vehicles on the road are worth more than $5,000.00.

When purchasing insurance, remember that the coverage you have needs to take care of both you, your family, and anyone who might be injured in an accident. Even safe drivers make mistakes, and you don’t want to be in the position of wishing you had chosen more reasonable limits on your policy than the bare minimums.

DISCLAIMER: All legal principles quoted are valid as of the date of writing in the State of California. However, you should NEVER base your actions on a legal article, blog, or internet story, as facts in real life are complicated. You should have your case evaluated by an attorney experienced in the area of law needed for your case. In addition, there are often exceptions and potential changes to results that occur due to facts that you may think are trivial or unimportant. This article should not be taken in any way as legal advice on your specific legal matter.

NOTICE: This blog and all materials on our website constitute advertisement materials, and the promulgation of such materials is meant of the residents of the State of California only. The attorneys and this firm to not practice law in any other state. In addition, the promulgation of these articles does not in any way create an attorney-client relationship and any inquiries and information you may send to the attorneys should be general and not specific, as it is not confidential.

Read our previous post here